RNC woes

September 3, 2008 at 10:49 pm 2 comments

Before I launch into a full-fledged recap of my life the past month that you don’t want to hear, but I can’t resist sharing, I need you to know that the Republicans have come to town.  And the press.  And the protesters.

And I wish they’d go away.

It’s a little reminiscent of Christmas Fest at St. Olaf…  We’d curse Christmas Fest for bringing the flocks of people and the smell of Lutefisk to our lovely campus.  “Go away people!” we’d whine amongst ourselves, and one year we even officially blacklisted Christmas Fest.  Who wants to hear a bunch of choirs sing Christmas tunes anyways?  (Okay, I’m guilty.  I’ve been to Christmas Fest.)

Anyways.  Back to the present day action in the lovely little metropolis that is Minneapolis-St. Paul.  The convention?  In St. Paul.  So why has my bus (which only goes through Minneapolis) been 30 minutes late the last 2 days?  And protesters?  Don’t even get me started.  I appreciate our right to freedom of speech.  But, PLEASE, don’t come to my city with buckets of urine and smoke bombs with the intent to harm.  And don’t steal the signs in my city.  Boys and girls, my taxes are paying for the damage you create.  So, enough!  I don’t visit your hometown carrying excrement and explosives, and it would be nice if you could return the favor.  Can’t you just march in a little circle with some signs like good little protesters?  Thanks.  Then maybe I won’t count down the days until you leave and bar close returns to 2 am.

And while I’m making pleas and complaints, I have one more plea to John McCain.  Please, Senator McCain, make an effort to be a little nicer to my best friend.  Okay?  I’m not saying you have to be BFFs on the Straight Talk Express, but how about no more of this?

McCAIN BLOWS OFF WSJ REPORTER

Entry filed under: Rants. Tags: , , , , .

there are no words… 2 weeks from today…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jim, Vicki, Colleen  |  September 10, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Happy Birthday late my sweet and wonderful Godchild!!!!!! Sorry, I blew it but will make it up at the gala of the year in October.

    Your loving Uncle
    jim

    Reply
  • 2. D  |  September 11, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    How about the Hockey headquarters (Minnesota) getting the first wack at what should become the “first Mom of Hockey”????

    I always thought that the pen was mighter than the sword… was that the reason for the diss?

    My Hockey Mom can beat up your community organizer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Posts


