Dry Laundry

July 16, 2008 at 10:09 pm 3 comments

Yes, I am going to mark my 2-day absence from blogging with a post about laundry. So exciting!

Our dryer broke last week. It tumbles, but doesn’t heat. Being the cheap thrifty resourceful little internet hunter that I am, I immediately thought, “we can fix this! I’ll just consult the internet.” And so, I borrowed the multimeter from work and we took apart the dryer based on the suggestion that we could most certainly fix it ourselves for MUCH cheaper than calling someone.

Jason at work.

Barley helps.

Yet, a week later, the dryer is still tipped over and taken apart. Guess we’re not going to fix it. Time to call someone, I guess…

Not even 20 minutes after we discovered the broken dryer, I was vacuuming and the vacuum just shut down.  I took it as a sign that I was not destined to clean the house that day, and sat down in front of the TV instead (with my laptop, designing paper goods for our wedding).

Here I am, fixing the vacuum the following day.  I just wanted to prove that I also can fix things.  The vacuum is back in action.  This is a. good because I can have a nice clean house, and b. bad because I’m the one who has to clean it.

In related news, I had recently subscribed to some personal finance blogs because I decided that I needed to learn more about personal finance strategies, etc. And, one of last week’s money-saving strategies was to hang laundry outside instead of using the dryer. Excellent timing! It’s like they read my mind.

Our neighbors even commented that they liked our outdoor laundry line.  Excellent!  It looks like we are being so earth-friendly!  ha ha!

Entry filed under: Home. Tags: , , .

gardening and more yard work Barley’s choice test

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan Kishner  |  July 16, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Can you tell me who did your layout? I’ve been looking for one kind of like yours. Thank you.

    Reply
  • 2. Debbie  |  July 17, 2008 at 6:42 am

    I love the smell of clothes that have been hung out to dry, especially sheets and bed linens. Unfortunately the birds around here like to use our clothesline as their personal rest room so I haven’t done that in some time.
    I remember how my Mother never wanted a clothes dryer when we were little. She would hang her clothes out all year round even in the winter! When she brought them in, they would be frozen solid with sleeves and legs stiff as if there was a person in the item! As children we were so amused by this!

    Reply
  • 3. trevor  |  July 18, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Your patio looks awesome, even with the laundry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


