gardening and more yard work

July 13, 2008 at 11:17 pm 3 comments

I know that the title of this post has you on the edge of your seats. Much excitement here to start off the work week right. Yes.

Anyways, while I was busy posting about every wedding I’ve ever been to, and you were busy snoozing on your computer because it was terribly boring, nothing much happened.

And now I am going to tell you about it.

First, our garden. It’s growing. See? Here is a shot of the garden from last weekend:

And here is one from today:

Notice how the pumpkins are ready to take over our entire property. Crazy pumpkins. Yes, you were right, should NOT have planted them in our 4-square-foot garden. I still maintain that I am shocked anything grew, and if you’ve witnessed my track record with house plants, you would know why.

In addition to giganto pumpkin plants, it looks like we’ve got some promising tomatoes and peppers growing. Which is exciting, because I’ve got a million leaves of lettuce (picked out of the garden, of course) and could definitely use something to put on them.

Second, we did some more yard work last weekend, and finished up one of the planting beds near the new brick patio that we built. This was actually quite entertaining, as part of our gardening experience included visiting coworker and friend, Dan, and his awesome wife, Cheryl. Really, we went over to their house to help pull some perennials out of their perennial garden so that we could plant them in our own. (We have to be frugal with our plant spending since we blew the budget on the brick pavers). We ended up staying and hanging out on their deck for the afternoon, drinking iced tea with mint and beer, just relaxing. It was excellent… their house overlooks a lake, and the back yard was designed for privacy, and also to attract all sorts of wildlife. We saw a bunch of birds and whatnot while just chillin’ on the deck. Very nice and peaceful.

So that was last Saturday. We then spent much of Sunday finishing up the brickwork on the planting beds and then planting said beds. But I think it looks much better now, even if the plants look like they’re dying in the photos.

This is what it looked like last time I shared pictures:

And now:  (much better, no?)

And here is a view of the back yard from our side door.  Please ignore how horrible our grass is.  Jason assures me that we will fertilize and seed in fall and everything will be better next year.

View from the North, looking South.  That big ugly firepit was left here by the previous owners.  I would love to put it on the patio, right smack dab in the middle there, but it’s all rusty and will ruin our new pavers every time it rains.  So, instead, we will let it kill the grass weeds until we get a new one.

During our trip to Milwaukee 2 weeks ago, we managed to score some free lilac plants from my mom and grandma.  I was particularly excited to plant the ones from my grandma – they were off-shoots from her lilac bush, which she transplanted from my great-grandmother’s farm before the farm was sold.  Isn’t that amazing?  You should all know by now what an obsession I have with all things old and heirloom-y, so I am just pleased as punch to have these little guys growing in my yard.  Now let’s just hope JT can keep them alive.

Entry filed under: Family, Garden, Good Things. Tags: , , , , , , .

Weddings That I’ve Been To, Day 5 Dry Laundry

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mandy  |  July 14, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Half the fun of gardening is just trying whatever and then adjusting year to year. Like cramming huge amounts of veggies into a tiny space! So, next year you’ll know to give yourselves a bit more room. And, yes, having seen your previous attempts with houseplants, I’d say you’re already infinitely more successful wtih outdoor gardening!

    What did you end up planting in your bed there? I think I see some liatris or asian lilies? Beyond that I can’t tell. Do you know what you got?

    The lilacs are very exciting. Once they’ve matured a bit, you’ll enjoy them so much. As I’m sure you know, two of the true joys of spring is finally being rid of the freaking snow and smelling fresh lilacs.

    What’s the status with the hops?

    Rock over, 2East Gardening!

    Reply
  • 2. Jason  |  July 15, 2008 at 8:52 am

    The hops were making a comeback from the hail storm, then some crappy vermin came in and ate all my nugget hops down to nubs. For some reason, it left my others alone, so they’re still doing fairly well. Doubt I’ll have any yield this year, but we’ve had a short growing season because of the long winter.

    Reply
  • 3. jeff-naturehills  |  August 4, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Your picture of the pumpkins going wild reminds me of at least 15 years ago when I tried to contain the plants in a small area. It just simply didn’t work. I left the pumpkin growing to friends with larger gardens than mine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


