Weddings That I’ve Been To, Day 5

July 10, 2008 at 6:45 pm 2 comments

Cripes. I have been to A LOT of weddings. I hope a lot of people will show up at MY wedding. Because we all know that the BEST part of the wedding (you know, besides the actual getting married part) is getting to spend time with ALL of your most favorite people at the same time. Anyways, on to today’s weddings:

Wedding #17: Phil and Nicki. Phil is one of Jason’s high school buddies, and he’ll be one of Jason’s groomsmen in October. Phil and Nicki’s wedding and reception was held in a greenhouse in Philly in the middle of January! It was a great weekend and a beautiful location for a wedding/reception! And, they had a string quartet that played Coldplay songs. They also included some Filipino traditions in the ceremony, since Phil is the filipino from Philly. Super-awesome. We originally were leaning towards a winter wedding, but faced objections concerns from those that would be coming in from out of town. So, October, it is!

Anyways, here’s a shot of JT and I with the bride and groom:

Jason and his high school buddies. We’re hoping these guys will make it to our wedding, even if they don’t know where Milwaukee is or why anyone would want to get married there.

Awesome friend Andrea and I. Conveniently, Andrea married Phil’s brother, Jeff, (more on that wedding soon), so they were at the wedding, too! (PS look who, once again, has a drink in her hand. yikes.)

Wedding #18: Kitty and Mikey. Alright, Katie and Mike. Katie Kitty is, according to a valentine’s day scantron that we took junior year of high school, meant to be my best friend. So every time we see each other, we yell “best friend!” and giggle. Anyways, these crazy kids got married in Chicago, so we got to visit yet another fantastic city on our weddings-across-America tour. Here’s a shot of Jason and I on our way to the reception. (I made someone on the street take our photo, yet another time when Jason just rolled his eyes at me and played along). Yay for downtown Chicago!

Christina, Kitty, and I. Isn’t Kitty gorgeous in all of her wedding get up?

The whole clan of high school girls (from left to right): Christina, Nicki, Kitty, Amanda, Emily, Me, and Carrie. After this photo, we danced, talked, and ate some seriously amazing desserts (yay for the late-night dessert table!). (Eeek! I just remembered that I forgot to list Carrie’s wedding, which was during my college years… Carrie and Chris had an awesome and truly original wedding at the Madison zoo… after their vows, we got to walk around the zoo and say hi to the animals!).

Wedding #19: Stacy and Sean. Unfortunately, no pictures of this one! I must have either forgotten my camera or forgotten to charge the battery. Anyways, I will give you a little description: Stacy and Sean got married in Minnesota (yay for no traveling to this one!), just North of Minneapolis. Their reception was in a tent, which is a super-fun idea when it’s the middle of summer in Minnesota because our summers here are FANTASTIC. Unfortunately, they got married 2 weeks before I defended my dissertation and JT and I ended up leaving a little early!

Wedding #20: Jeff and Andrea. Jeff and Jason went to high school together (Jeff is Phil-from-wedding-#17’s brother), and they both moved to MN the same week. For a girl! But let me tell you, Andrea was totally worth the move because she is one of the most super-awesome people I have ever met. She asked me to be her wingman, which basically meant that I got to hang out with her and the bridemaids for the day! Yay! We started off with a girls-only sleepover the night before the wedding (I plan on also doing this. Why? Because it is just so much fun.) We hung out all day the next day, getting hair done (Andrea and the Bridesmaids) and makeup put on and all that fun stuff.

Then! Wedding time! The ceremony was beautiful, with all of the filipino traditions that Phil and Nicki included in their ceremony. The reception was held in downtown Minneapolis and it was gorgeous. The food was delish! We danced all night! I only snapped a few photos, though…

Here’s JT and I:

The gorgeous bride and I:

Check out this shot of JT… can you say “drunken phone call to a taxi driver to ask why he wasn’t picking us up yet?” (which is ridiculous in light of the fact that we had not yet called ANY taxi company).

Wedding #21: Sarah and Adam. Sarah was my roommate sophomore year of college, my teammate on the ski team, and my labmate when I was in grad school. So I was really thrilled when she asked me to be a bridesmaid, and she’s going to be one of my bridesmaids in October!! Like J, Jeff, and Phil, Adam is another Philly native. They got married in Minneapolis at the end of December 2006, but unfortunately, we lived in Kentucky at the time. Oh well, it was worth the travel! Such a beautiful wedding… Here’s a shot of Sarah getting her hair done.

Sarah and Adam during their reception at the Minneapolis Country Club.

Me with the beautiful bride!

Sarah and I breaking it down. My dance moves do not look very impressive in still photos. (Actually, now that I think about it, I’m not sure they’re very impressive in real life).

The obligatory Jason and Jen photo:

I actually managed to elbow out the competition at Sarah’s wedding and catch the bouquet, so it only makes sense that:

Wedding #22 will be our own wedding! Yay! So exciting!!

And this concludes the “Weddings That I’ve Been To” series. Now back to our regularly-scheduled blogging.

Entry filed under: Good Things, Vintage, Wedding. Tags: , , .

Weddings That I’ve Been To, Day 4 gardening and more yard work

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Unk B  |  July 11, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Wouldn’t your wedding be #23?

    Reply
  • 2. D  |  July 11, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Unk B,
    Jen went to school for SCIENCE not math….
    D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


