Weddings That I’ve Been To, Day 2

July 6, 2008 at 8:35 pm 2 comments

Up today: my awkward teenage years. This should be good.

Wedding #5:  My uncle Jim and aunt Vicki.  My uncle Jim is also my godfather, so I was given the extra-special role of junior bridesmaid in their wedding!  As a thank you present, they gave me a photo album with photos of the rehearsal dinner and wedding, so I have LOTS of pictures to share with you!  (Note to self: this is an excellent thank you gift idea…).

Here’s the new Mr and Mrs introduced for the first time!  (PS check out the back of the bridesmaid dresses – they had strands of pearls dangling from the shoulders.  Details!)

Here’s me and the junior groomsman (my aunt Vicki’s godchild) walking out of the church.  I still thought boys had cooties at this point, so I wasn’t entirely sure about getting this close to one that I didn’t know.  But, anything for uncle Jim and aunt Vicki!

Everyone in the bridal party was introduced wearing masks at the reception –  a fun touch!  We spent the rest of the night dancing.

Here’s my uncle Jim and I dancing!  What a cute picture!

Wedding #6: A wedding in England!!  When my grandparents asked me to come to England with them for their friends’ son’s wedding, I was ecstatic.  Mr and Mrs Court have been long-time friends of my grandparents, and when I was little, their daughter, Sarah, lived with my grandparents.  I don’t remember meeting their son, Simon, until the wedding, but that was fine.  Why?  Because I got to wear a hat and have my first sips of wine.  Check out my brace face along with the lovely Sarah (then Court) Blakstad and her hubby (more on that wedding later), David.  Look how proud I am of that glass of wine.  I probably had 3 sips and giggled the rest of the night.  Ahh… some things never change.

Good thing I was helping them drink the wine: check out that bottle.  It’s huge!!

Wedding #7:  My aunt Teresa and uncle Mark.  Teresa is my mom’s youngest sister, and Mark was our tennis instructor!  So I’d like to pretend for a minute that I’ve had some sort of matchmaking role in this one.  Anyways, heres a shot of all the ladies!  I was a *real* bridesmaid in this wedding!  yay!

The bride and groom.  Isn’t this a nice photo?  BTW: Teresa was the ultimate DIY bride and did all of the flowers in the bouquets.  Amazing, no?  I am totally not that brave.

Here is my dad and I dancing.  I can guarantee you that he’s saying, “STOP LEADING!”  And that is probably what he’ll still be saying during the father-daughter dance at my own wedding.  Eek!  I am just not a good follower!

A full Perry family shot – check out how adorable little Robby is in that tux!  And why is my hair piled so high on my head?  Did I really wear that?  And love it?  Because I think this was the first time I had my hair professionally styled in an updo, and I was pretty thrilled about it.

Wedding #8:  Back in England!  Ashley and I were asked to be bridesmaids in Sarah Court’s wedding!  Remember how she married David Blakstad?  I mentioned this above in wedding #6.  Here are the photos.

The ladies arrive at the church in style!

Robby was so cute that Sarah thought he should be a little ringbearer.  Don’t you love his little top hat and tails?  What a cutie!  Sarah’s wedding was at the church down the street from her parent’s house, and her reception was held in a tent in their backyard.  They have the *perfect* back yard for a tent reception – their garden is just stunning.

Just so you can check out Robby in his tux again.  Look at that cute little smirk!  Also, can you believe that our dresses were handmade in the 2 days prior to the wedding.  We came into town, met with the dressmaker, and suddenly, she had these lovely dresses all ready for us!

And that’s all the fun we have for today!  Stay tuned tomorrow for photos of me doing the chicken dance at aunt Jackie and uncle Brian’s wedding!

Entry filed under: Family, Good Things, Uncategorized, Vintage, Wedding. Tags: , , .

Weddings That I’ve Been To, Day 1 Weddings That I’ve Been To, Day 3

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  July 6, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Oh, c’mon and now you hit me with those pictures of the fabulous time we had in England and wittle Wobby looks so darn cute and he actually liked me back then! Turn back the clock already!

    Reply
  • 2. D  |  July 7, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Wait a minute… we went to England for a wedding? Must have been the English hospitality that “erased” this from memory. I t’s coming to me….I remember a church and seem to recall a tent….. The thing that I DO remember were the loos…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


