Weddings That I’ve Been To, Day 1

July 5, 2008 at 10:30 pm 5 comments

Up today: weddings that I don’t really remember. Sorry, aunts!  But I was just too little.  One of the best things about being the oldest grandchild is that I was there for ALL of my aunt and uncle’s weddings.

Anyways, feel free to post awesome or funny stories of any of these weddings (if you were there) in the comments!

First up: my aunt Jayne (my dad’s younger sister) and uncle Gordy’s wedding in Spring, 1985.  I was the cutest flower girl in the wedding (and also, the only flower girl in the wedding).  This is actually the only picture I have of the wedding (my mom has all of the “good photos” of my childhood).

Next: My aunt Tami (my dad’s older sister) and uncle Doug’s wedding in October, 1985.  Once again, I was the cutest (and only) flower girl in the wedding.  I think my mom made my little dress, and I even got to wear a hat for this wedding!  The hat hung on my bedroom wall for YEARS after the wedding.  Here I am dancing with my grandpa.  (Again, this is only the only picture I have from this wedding.)

My third wedding: My aunt Kathy and uncle Neil’s wedding.  I was a bit older for this one – I got to be a junior bridesmaid this time around.  So exciting!  Here’s a shot of my sister and I, and my cousin Mark in the background.  I think most of our childhood pictures are like this: me smiling and squeezing Ashley as hard as I can, and her looking totally unsure about it.  You should see the ones of us when she was first born – I’m all “LOOK!  I HAVE A NEW SISTER!  LETS SEE HOW TIGHT I CAN SQUEEZE HER!  I LOVE MY NEW BABY SISTER!” and she’s all making the ugliest crying face ever, wailing her little head off.  Gosh, I should post some of those classics also.

Here’s me and one of the flower girls (Neil’s niece) dragging cousin Mark out onto the dance floor.  Poor cousin Mark!

And my fourth wedding: I was a junior bridesmaid again!!  I’m not going to say much about this one, since I have really no memory of it at all, but I thought this photo was worth posting because I think it’s one of 4 times in my childhood where my sister and I are not beating the crap out of each other.  Look!  We’re both smiling!!  Now that I think about it, we probably smacked each other around after this was taken.

Stay tuned as tomorrow I will present Day 2 of Weddings That I’ve Been To, starring me in my awkward middle and high school years!  Such a treat!

Entry filed under: Family, Uncategorized, Wedding. Tags: , , , , .

Happy July Fourth! Weddings That I’ve Been To, Day 2

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  July 6, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Ohh, you’re making my heart ache for days gone by!!!

    Reply
  • 2. jp  |  July 6, 2008 at 10:21 am

    @mom:
    which part do you miss?

    the part where we were all dressed up and angellic-looking? or the part where we constantly fought until dad finally had enough and yelled his loud-enough-to-shake-the-house voice?

    Reply
  • 3. mom  |  July 6, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Oh yeah, I guess I was just thinking of those good bits wedged in between the rest of the time. Never mind, I’m over it now…

    Reply
  • 4. Unk B  |  July 7, 2008 at 11:58 am

    I think you were the cutest at the 4th wedding.
    Who’s wedding was that anyway?
    Just because the marriage didn’t last doesn’t mean I shouldn’t get credit for it. Or, are you embarrassed?

    Reply
  • 5. Ashley  |  July 26, 2008 at 5:57 am

    The picture that you were in the blue dress was from Uncle Brian’s wedding to whats-her-face… I’m not sure what wedding the purple dresses are from, maybe Aunt Kathys? I just remember the blue dress cuz I got to wear white 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


