a relatively lazy Thursday

July 4, 2008 at 12:19 am 1 comment

Today was a pretty good and relatively lazy Thursday. I was up early and did some yoga before work, went to work, and did my usual thing there (i.e., work). But then, at lunch time, a few of us decided to walk downtown and check out the farmer’s market that is held every Thursday.

The herb stand at the farmer’s market.

I really like the farmer’s market downtown – it’s huge and there’s such a variety of things. Flowers, herbs, freshly-baked bread, candied nuts, cheese, sausage, fruits, veggies… it ends up being about 6 full city blocks of amazingness. I usually intend to go, buying from local farmers makes me really happy because the food is usually fresher and cheaper than I would buy it at the store.  But then I usually end up forget ting about it by the time Thursday rolls around each week.

Coworkers Mylissa and Christina at the farmer’s market.


Anyways, I ended up buying cilantro and basil plants, yellow squash, and zucchini (I’m hoping to make kabobs later this weekend and intended to pick up a bunch of veggies, but it just didn’t happen).

Coworker Katie buys snap peas.

Katie and I spent most of the afternoon moving our desks into a recently-cleaned out portion of our office (half of the office had previously been used for storage, but we asked if they could move some of it to give us room to spread out).  We’ll be getting some new coworkers in the office soon, so the office needed new desks and we figured we might as well set them up and use them ourselves.  I am so incredibly excited for the new desk because it will finally give me some space to spread out!  I was feeling really smooshed in my other cubicle!  Anyways, after our moving adventures, Katie and I called it a day.  JT came to pick me up, and we gave Katie a ride home.  Katie just happens to live near Electric Fetus, an awesome music store, so we stopped in to pick up a She and Him‘s new (only) album.  It’s cute.  We like it.  Since it’s the first CD J has bought in more months than I can remember, I thought I’d document it.

The sign on the side of the Electric Fetus store.  I just thought it was really neat.

JT with his new purchase.

Both J and I got off of work early, and decided to head to some craft stores to pick up some materials for some wedding craft-y things we’re going to do. Jason hates the craft store, but I promised that we could go on a date afterwards, so he was a good sport.

JT got hungry while we were shopping.


J spotted this and couldn’t stop laughing for 10 minutes.  Yes, he’s still 10 years old.  And no, he did not arrange the letters in this fashion.

Our dinner date at the Herkimer was very fun. And! A red phone kept driving past, ringing. It was the strangest thing I’ve seen in a while… I tried to capture a picture, but didn’t get a very good one, so you might have to use your imagination on this one.

J loves the Herkimer.

The red phone drives by.


After dinner, we came back to the house, and we’ve been watching the dog try to find a good hiding spot (he is terrified of the fireworks that are being set off in our neighborhood).

Hiding spot #1: The bathtub (which is ridiculous because he DESPISES taking baths).


Hiding spot #2: Under the basement stairs, snuggling with the nasty cobwebs and whatnot (it’s seriously gross under there.  Guess the dog will be back in the bathtub tomorrow for a cleaning…)

Entry filed under: Barley, Barley the cowardly bully, Good Things. Tags: , , , , , , .

a garden revisit Happy July Fourth!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  July 5, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    I’m sorry, but a name like ELECTRIC FETUS is just wrong!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


