a garden revisit

July 2, 2008 at 10:53 pm 2 comments

Dear Everyone,

Get your comments ready! This post is going to be about our oh-so-controversial garden.

Sincerely,

JP

Alright. Remember when you said that you thought we were crazy for planting all of our plants so close together. And, um, as much as it pains me to say this: you might have been right. Ouch. Ahem. Anyways.

So here’s the garden:

Isn’t she a beaut?

Look! STUFF IS ACTUALLY GROWING. REAL PLANTS THAT ARE NOT WEEDS ARE GROWING IN MY GARDEN.

This minor fact still amazes me. I don’t have a great track record with house plants – I think I’ve killed every. single. one. I’ve ever had, including the succulent that my grandma suggested would be impossible to kill. She’s had her succulent so long that it’s grown into a tree. Mine? Lasted 2 months. And then I watered it for 3 more months, clinging desperately to the hope that it would come back alive, if only I would water it excessively.

Jason has banned me from caring for our current houseplants, and I feel like this ban should certainly extend into the garden. So, really, I haven’t done anything to the garden other than pull out a few weeds and admire it occasionally. But, I live with Jason, and I feel like that is fair grounds for me to take credit for his gardening. So, let me say it again: REAL LIVE PLANTS THAT MAY PRODUCE EDIBLE DELICIOUSNESS ARE GROWING IN MY BACKYARD.

If you look closely, I clearly planted too many pumpkin seeds in the front right square. In my defense, I was slightly convinced that none of it would really grow anyways. The cilantro, tomatoes, and peppers that we started as seeds and moved outside died 3 days after we replanted them, and those squares have remained open. Also, that bright green stuff in the middle of the garden? It’s lettuce, and it’s everywhere. I would just like to announce that 15 min after I planted those seeds, the sky opened up and threw hail and rain down on my poor defenseless garden, and the result was lettuce everywhere. I suspect that, since lettuce seeds are planted relatively close to the surface of the soil, the rain washed them everywhere. We decided not to pick the extra lettuce because, hey! SOMETHING IS GROWING IN THE GARDEN! As we eat the lettuce, we’ll just pull it up (roots and all) out of the squares we don’t want it in. In the one square where the lettuce should be, we’ll just cut the leaves 1/2″ above the soil, and according to the seed packet, it might grow back.

The tomato plant has just really taken off (the one that we actually bought and started as a real big plant), and it looks like we’ve got 4 tomatoes growing, even though we have some pruning to do. The cucumbers, watermelon, and muskmelon are all growing large and vining (over the side of the garden so we don’t run out of room in the garden). I think someone suggested that having the plants vine out over the grass was going to be a complete and total pain in the butt. We’ll see.

The onions and garlic have sent up leaves, but who knows what is going on beneath the soil. The radishes, however, are big and beautiful and ready to be picked. I love radishes. They’re like instant gratification for gardening (or like 20-days later gratification, which, I think, is as close to instant as you get with gardening). So is lettuce! So, I picked some lettuce and radishes and made a salad for us to eat with our grilled chicken last night.

I’m quite happy to be picking that radish out of the garden.

There is something so so so super-cool about just heading out the back door and picking your dinner. It’s incredible. It’s like, HEY, I DID THAT! (even if JT is primarily responsible) AND IT’S DELICIOUS! I MADE SOMETHING EDIBLE AND DELICIOUS!

Look at this perfect radish!

I LOVE IT! So I planted more radishes so that I can get another gardening high in 20 days (as well as delish radishes). I love radishes with salt on them. Yummy!

So. Amazing.

A Barley picture, just so you don’t forget what he looks like. It has been a full 48 hours since I’ve posted about him, and he was quite upset that I didn’t write about him yesterday (he emailed me to tell me).

Entry filed under: Garden. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

the grain exchange room: remodeled version a relatively lazy Thursday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jimmy Cracked-Corn  |  July 3, 2008 at 9:15 am

    It looks VERY nice! I have a bit more room than you’re using in my garden, but my melons and gourds are also spilling over uncontrollably into the yard.

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  July 3, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Who’s Jimmy?

    I’m jealous, you can grow veggies because you have a nice solid fence that protects your plants from bunnies, deer, and hungry neighbors! Watch out for tomato thieves!

    Speaking of tomatoes (and thieving!) I seem to remember a little four year old girl who, together with a neighbor boy, picked all the green tomatoes off the nice little old lady’s plants next door to us on 97th St. She took it well but I was horrified! Maybe that is where your love of gardening started… (although I would have thought having to admit your naughtiness to the little old lady would have turned you away from gardening for good!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


