custom wedding invitations

June 11, 2008 at 10:45 pm 4 comments

More on this weekend’s shenanigans in a minute. First, breaking news. I have decided that I am obsessed with letterpress invitations. And I am going to attempt to design our invites myself. Why not, right? (I think I secretly want to be a graphic designer now).

Anyways, here’s what I’ve created tonight using Adobe Illustrator. Very simple. Maybe even a little boring. But I think if done on a soft white or ivory letterpress paper, they will look very elegant. (note that the borders shown are meant to be printed on the invite – the actual edge isn’t shown here because it blends into the blog background).

I wanted to only put the important information about the ceremony on the main invite… not things like our website and the dress code. This is because I wanted to keep the main invitation clean, and also I’d like to frame it and hang it in our house somewhere eventually. The size of the invite should be 5″ x 7″ when printed.

I’m not sure that I’m in love with the wording on the response card (size is only 3″ x 5″ so it’s not to scale). But I like the simple design that goes along with the main invite. I’ve been debating whether to put the reception info on the main invitation and just forego the reception card. Anyone have thoughts on this? I’ve seen it both ways. Putting the reception info on the invite would save some money, but it might be too much info to take in all at once.

So, is it really necessary for me to put what time drinks and dinner are separately?

And the website – does it look weird just floating there? The website will hopefully be a good resource for those coming in from out of town since we have info on what to see/do in Milwaukee. I was hoping that including this on the reception card could save us from having to print out accomodation cards… but do I need to specifically say, “for more information see our website…”??  (Although, according to Miss Manners, it is not appropriate to include the wedding website in a formal invitation – maybe we should just remove it?).

Another question: is the “black tie invited” on here okay? I want to convey that men should get out those tuxes if they have them, but it’s not necessary to rent if they don’t (instead, a black suit could do). Again, I wasn’t sure whether to put this info on the main invitation or not.

One final invitation piece: the response card.

I’ve been reading up on wedding etiquette, and in the good ole days, response cards weren’t necessary – people just knew it was proper to send a note back to accept or decline the invitation. I kind of wish that was still the case now, just because I want to see what kind of notes would come in. So this little response card is a kickback to the good ole days. Kind of. I made it with the intention that people might see that big blank space there and write me something special. (So now, all 5 of you reading this will know to write me a note! Please!). Also, to be perfectly honest, the little line with an “M” and a whole bunch of blank spaces has always baffled me. What if I want to respond that DOCTOR Perry will be attending your wedding? Ha ha ha! So the blank space avoids the “M” issue. And, don’t worry, I will number each and every one so that I can determine exactly who has responded, even if I can’t read the handwriting on the card. I’ve got plans.

Let me know what you think! Would you change anything?

Entry filed under: Wedding. Tags: , , , , , , .

floral inspiration bridal accessories

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  June 12, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Here’s my two cents for what it’s worth..I agree with Mis Manners about the website; you have always said you want a very formal wedding and this distracts from that. You can still frame the invitation. I think you need a separate reception card or it will be too uch information at once.
    I love the idea of the blank space so people can write a note. I generally try to write something more than “yes we’ll be there” but there is no space so my response is short and to the point.
    As far as accommodations, you can, I think, just put a typed piece of paper with the information in the envelope. I don’t think that has to be formal.
    I am not a wedding planner or Miss Manners ; these are just my humble thoughts in case you needed one more opinion to mull over.
    When it is black tie, I have usually seen that on the invitation itself.

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  June 12, 2008 at 11:01 am

    OK – you got me, I am going to end up commenting on the invite after all! Invite as is –
    Pros: clean and formal, nice for a frame but you could frame an invite with reception info on it as well.
    Cons: guests have to keep track of two cards for all the info on times instead of one (think of my papers all over the kitchen!), may convey the feeling that they are two separate events and therefore ok to attend one without the other, more expensive. I also think if you format the invite to a 5×7 you may find the print size is really large to fill it from top to bottom as shown. It looks square on the blog.

    If you have reception info on invite, couldn’t you still include a nice card with the website and perhaps a few comments explaining black tie optional…because I know some people may think it necessary if they only see “Black Tie Invited” and you still can’t count on everyone visiting the website for a better explanation.

    What about including a line without the M in front. At least then it may occur to them to fill in their names. Our maybe you should put “Dear Jennifer & Jason,” and then a big blank space for them to finish the note. That might provoke a little more writing on the response card.

    I don’t know if you need to include accomodations info since I think you have sent that information to everyone who will be staying overnight already but a map will be necessary. Again, not everyonwe is savvy enough with the computer and it is a nice courtesy. Be sure to check out the routes available in Milwaukee because of all the freeway construction. You may be better off having them drive down Wisconsin Ave for awhile (get to pass Marquette University) and then over to Michigan Ave.

    Whew! is that what you wanted to hear?

    Reply
  • 3. jp  |  June 12, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Mom and Debbie –

    Thanks for your opinions!! We will carefully consider them, as we usually do… 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. jp  |  June 12, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    One more thing: Will it look silly if the actual invite is professionally printed with letterpress and then the accomodations card is just printed out on our printer?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts


