floral inspiration

June 10, 2008 at 10:18 pm 5 comments

I tried to post this last Thursday, but it didn’t quite work out…

My mom and I met with another florist on Saturday… A few weeks ago, my mom stopped into A New Leaf Floral, and immediately called and declared that I HAD to check the place out. So, that’s what we did.

I’d like to do round bouquets of flowers in fall colors (deep reds especially) for the ladies. Bonus points if the bouquet includes calla lilies! I think calla lilies are so pretty, and Jason says they remind him of his grandma Lily. How cute! Here’s an example of what this might look like:

[Image from The Knot]

Actually, the ladies bouquets will look almost exactly like the above photo, but with some deep red and orange berries mixed in, and surrounded by some greenery. The florist suggested the greenery around the edge so that the flowers really “pop” in the pictures – since the girls will be wearing black, the deep red flowers wouldn’t show up as well without greenery. Thank goodness the florist mentioned that… I’m going to be really disappointed if we don’t have AMAZING wedding pictures (more on our photographer later, but she is *fantastic*).

My bouquet will be a mix of whites, ivories, and champagnes. Originally, my mom and I thought that I would need to carry colored flowers since my dress is a champagne-y, silvery color and it seems to change colors depending on the lighting. Jason, though, insisted that I go with white flowers (he has some seriously strong opinions on random pieces of the wedding, so when he voices his opinion, I usually like to humor him). We’re going with some champagne and ivory roses, white calla lilies, and a few other small white flowers for texture (I really know nothing about flowers… but the florists suggestions seem to be okay). Should be lovely! I am also excited because I picked up some little letter charms from a craft store over the weekend, so now I’ll be able to spell something fun in the handle of my bouquet… such a little detail that I’m sure no one will notice, but I hope to get a cute picture like this:

[from Weddingbee.com]

As far as centerpieces go, I want something that is a little different… so here’s what I’ve come up with. (Apologies for no sources on these… I was scouring the internet and forgot to write them down!). I am envisioning something branchy and fall-ish. Like so:

I especially love the candles hanging in the branches (or are they feathers?) in the bottom picture. Our florist can craft these, but suggests using silk flowers for them. Mmmm… I’m not sure what I really think about that. Will I be able to tell if they’re fake? I wonder if I should head out to the craft store and try to do a mock-up of these myself. Although, the florist may be able to find higher quality fake flowers than the local craft store carries… Hmm. Any thoughts? Have any of you used fake flower centerpieces?

My mom and I also headed to a nursery to check out whether it could work to actually put a small tree on each table. Japanese maples would be really pretty, since the leaves are red and have a really neat texture.

[Image Source]

I think it could be pretty… or it could be a total wreck.

What do you think? Would a little tree on the table be weird or awesome? Has anyone used anything like this before?

Entry filed under: Wedding. Tags: , , , , , , .

gas and graduation custom wedding invitations

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Unk B  |  June 11, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    The tree would be cool. You could have a raffle at each table and the winner gets to take the tree home and plant it. Then on your anniversaries that person would have to send you a picture of the tree. Cool Huh?

    Reply
  • 2. Mandy  |  June 11, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    On the Japanese Maples: Did you check the prices on these guys? They can be ridiculously expensive. Of course, I’m more familiar with them in their teenaged years, so maybe the babies are less expensive. Not to say that I don’t love J. Maples. One of my top five favorite trees. (What would you do with them after the reception? Can you just rent them from the nursery? I know Bachman’s offers that service…)

    As far as going faux for your centerpieces — silk flowers are becoming incredibly realistic lately. I can barely tell a silk orchid from a real orchid without touching it these days. However, the high-quality, realistic-looking silks flowers can be molto expensivo. If you’re going to go the branchy-branch route, it’d probably be a lot cheaper to go with the real deal.

    I actually like the third picture from the top in your grouping above. I see the appeal in the hanging candles from the last picture, but the potential for accidents makes me nervous. In the third picture, the candles are varied in height to give dimension and complement the height of the centerpiece.

    I’m sure you and your florist willl come up with something seasonally faboo. Can’t wait to see it all come together for you!

    Reply
  • 3. GGG GpaGG  |  June 11, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    do you rent the trees or what do you do with all the trees if you have to buy them? Just a thought! Sorry I didn”t know you were home or I could have gotten the cake topper over to you. I’m going up to Aunt Tamis cottage while the guys go to Canada. Should I get it as far as her house?

    Reply
  • 4. tp  |  June 11, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    I vote for the trees…Personally, I like real flowers or no flowers myself. Of course, I still have a REAL Christmas wreath hanging on the wall in my dinning room so I guess take my advice for what it’s worth. HA HA HA.

    Reply
  • 5. carla  |  August 8, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I have been to many many weddings and wedding planning is a passion of mine. I have a few pictures of centerpieces with branches that I think you would like. If you have not already made a decision I would be happy to email them to you….let me know

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts


