gas and graduation

June 9, 2008 at 10:51 pm 9 comments

Sorry to have left you all hanging for the weekend… as I may have mentioned before, I was in Milwaukee for the weekend to get some wedding-related things done and to see my little brother graduate from high school. Unfortunately, I had to do the entire 5-hour drive myself, which I am not used to at all. Also, I had to purchase gas, which I haven’t done in months (it’s a boy job, and frankly, I just don’t want to know what it’s costing us). So I pretty much threw a tempertantrum at the pump when it cost me $63.45 to fill up the Camry on Friday. -sob- Gone are the days when I could get a full tank for less than $30. -sniffle-

Anyways. Today it cost me $67.92, which caused me to have a stroke right there at the pump. But you’ll be happy to hear I was revived quick enough to head into work for the afternoon.  Oh, and I want to know: if I followed someone really closely (not that I ever do this), would I save on fuel?  And, if it meant I had to speed a little to follow someone, what speed would I effectively break even and the increased fuel usage of the over-55 speed would cancel out the decreased fuel usage of tailing another car?  I’m hoping the answer is 72, but I’m not sure how or why I came up with that number.  Note that I had 5 hours of alone time to do nothing but think.  And drive.  And this is what I come up with.  Yikes.

All this “the economy is in the crapper” talk recently is a little hard to swallow when you’re young, getting married, ready to start your own family. It’s like, “HOW ARE WE EVER GOING TO MAKE IT!?” And really, I have not a lot of reasons to be concerned, we’ve both got jobs, we are both able to meet our financial obligations each month, and we’re able to even save. But it just sucks (sorry dad, I know you hate that word.) having the deflated economy and high food and gas prices rubbed in your face when you’re working on developing a reasonable budget and future plans and all that.

I heard this really great report on WPR today as I was driving through Wisconsin. (Wait. Did I imply I was young in the above paragraph? Scratch that, I guess. Do young people even listen to public radio?). The gist of the report was that people ARE spending money and some areas of the economy ARE flourishing. Yes! NPR, keep those sweet reports coming. Hope! Apparently, the story is that consumers are finally changing their behavior, buying bikes and kayaks instead of cars and far away vacations. Some jobs are coming back to the US because the cost of shipping things from abroad has increased so much. Thank you, consumers. I have definitely seen a change in the number of people riding the bus, and MetroTransit has practically doubled service on the bus route that I normally take (as well as extending the route a few miles south). And, JT plans to start riding his bike to work now that the weather is warmer (he’s already calculated that he saves $4 every time he rides to work). So, I think this is good. And I hope we’re on the upswing (but my guess is that it will be a bit longer before we’re on the upswing).

Alright. That’s my two cents on the economy. [Disclaimer: I did get an A in college economics, but I think the tests were open book.]

Anyways. The real reason behind this post: MY LITTLE BROTHER GRADUATED FROM HIGH SCHOOL.

Can you believe this kid:

Is now this faux adult?*:

(the best part of living 1 state away is that I can spread this crap all over the internet, and he can’t do much about it. hee.)

*faux adult = someone who is over the age of 18 but still dependent on parents, etc for financial support. This is in contrast with a REAL adult, which is someone who is over the age of 18 and self-supporting. It’s an important distinction in my family… although, I secretly suspect that all of us may technically still be faux adults.

Entry filed under: etc, Family, Rants. Tags: , , , , , , .

only 4 months until the big day! floral inspiration

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Josh Maxwell  |  June 9, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Well said Great information, keep up the great work!

    Reply
  • 2. D  |  June 10, 2008 at 10:01 am

    TECHNICALLY!?!?!?! I could make you all REAL!

    Jen just so you have a job and keep spending money on entertainment and renovation you are doing your part.

    And to add to your misery…. Chipotle has had massive cost increases because of the wrong thinking of ethanol addiitive to your expensive gas, SO while you are storking out at the pump you also should be stroking out at the counter and at the movies and just wait until the natural gas pricing starts moving again this fall. Sorry for all the joyful news but corn is not the way to power a car!
    Drill, Drill Drill., refine, refine, refine…. corn is for eating.

    P.S. I REALLY tried to be less complain-y than you… not sure It worked.

    Reply
  • 3. Mandy  |  June 10, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Uh…you do realize that a tiny little portion of your blogging audience (hi!) lives in California and therefore personally resents when anyone not living in California complains about the price of gas? Okay thanks! (And thanks to that $4.50/gal. for making this comment possible! [That price is from yesterday. I’m sure it’s probably like $27/gal today. No exaggeration.])

    Reply
  • 4. mom  |  June 10, 2008 at 11:42 am

    @ D — TECHNICALLY – Ditto for you!

    @ Mandy – You may pay more for gas but the important stuff is cheaper like great weather and good wine and Disneyland.

    @ Jen – I think D had a Freudian slip when he tried to spell “stroking”. I think that “starting a family” comment in the third paragraph had something to do with it.

    Reply
  • 5. tp  |  June 10, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    WPR!!???!! NPR??!!!!???!?! OMG!!! You ARE old. Don’t worry about the economy, at your advanced age there will still be social security when you retire in a few years. HA.

    Reply
  • 6. Mandy  |  June 10, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Carol: You speak the truth! How can I be too upset with a citrus tree in my yard and the promise of never having to shovel?!

    And, like I said, Jen — I’m an NPR addict as well. I even do a little dance when I hear the All Things Considered song…scary!

    Reply
  • 7. jp  |  June 10, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    @Dad – Movies?!? We don’t do that here. Can’t deal with the prices… see… all the extra stuff is relatively easy to avoid since I would rather sit on my couch and blog than leave the house anyways… but the gas! and the food! There’s no getting around it. PS There will be no “storking” out around here for a long time.
    @Mom – hillarious.
    @Mandy – sorry! But yay for citrus trees?
    @Tami – thank goodness your kids will be ready to move in and take care of me soon… at this rate, I probably won’t be able to do stairs in another year or two… ha ha ha!

    Reply
  • 8. GGG GpaGG  |  June 11, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    D is right. corn is for eating!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have no idea what OLD is!!! GGG

    Reply
  • 9. D  |  June 11, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    SO while you are storking —
    Re read re read re read before hitting submit! why is that so tough to remember?

    ANYWAY… NO to the storking!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts


