only 4 months until the big day!

June 4, 2008 at 10:00 pm 8 comments

Since it’s only t-minus 4 months until the big day, I wanted to write something really good. I started off thinking, “YES! I CAN’T WAIT!” But then, “oh crap. only 4 months to pull this all together!” followed and I was going to get complain-y, but I know that you all like me so much better when I am not complain-y. So I will have to keep my “oh crap” thoughts to myself. For now. I make no promises with regards to future blog entries.

ANYWAYS. Your special treat for today is that I am going to unveil a very top-secret list. No one other than Jason and I have seen this list before… (because it’s a little dorky, and while I admit to real-life dorkiness, I would prefer my blog world persona to be super-cool). So, without further ado, a list that I made in early 2004.

50 things I want to do with you before we get married

(highlighted items have been completed)

  1. backpack through Europe
  2. go to a monster truck rally
  3. spend over $80 on a nice dinner for 2
  4. go to the ballet
  5. camping
  6. skiing (downhill, of course)
  7. go to the opera
  8. go running together
  9. go hiking in the mountains
  10. take a road trip
  11. volunteer
  12. go to church together
  13. go to a concert
  14. have a squirt gun fight
  15. build a snowman
  16. make dinner together
  17. throw a party
  18. read the same book at the same time so we can discuss it with each other
  19. see “big fish”
  20. go to an art museum
  21. play soccer (or at least kick the ball around)
  22. brew our own beer (with your kit… remember, what’s yours is mine)
  23. bake a pie
  24. listen to a poetry reading
  25. mini golfing
  26. ice skating
  27. watch a movie at a drive-in movie theater
  28. grow a love fern (a la how to lose a guy in 10 days)
  29. go boating/sailing
  30. go to the zoo
  31. slow dance
  32. play scrabble
  33. take ballroom dancing lessons (so we look good at the wedding)
  34. paint
  35. do laundry together
  36. go rollerblading
  37. watch the sun set over the ocean
  38. watch “It’s a Wonderful Life”
  39. play cards
  40. wash dishes
  41. go fishing
  42. go somewhere dark on a clear night and look for star constellations
  43. get ice cream from Sebastian Joe’s (the ice cream place by my condo)
  44. put together a puzzle
  45. play monopoly until someone really wins
  46. go to a farmer’s market
  47. cut down and decorate a Christmas tree
  48. watch dawson’s creek
  49. take a cooking class together
  50. learn a foreign language together

In early 2004, we had been dating for 6 months and were still living halfway across the country from each other (Jason in North Carolina and I in Minnesota)… but, truthfully, I think we knew we were going to get married after the first weekend we spent together. And that is a story for another time.

I have no idea why I put this together in the first place… but now that I’ve pulled it out, I’m thinking “oh crap! only 4 months to put this all together!” I kind of doubt we’ll end up completing the entire list (because how on earth will we build a snowman in the summer? I mean, I know we’re in Minnesota, but come on!  It’s usually not THAT cold here in the summer.).  It’s funny to see what I thought we should do together 4 years ago. It’s also good to look at the things we’ve crossed off and reminisce.

For example:

6. Skiing – We had a great time skiing in Breckenridge with my family last year!

20. The Zoo – we’ve been to several in the last few years: Cincinnati, San Francisco, Louisville to name a few.  We love zoos.

Jason bonds with the Orangutan and the Louisville zoo.

47. Cutting down a Christmas tree – this has become somewhat of a tradition in our house.  Every year, I drag Jason and the saw out to a tree farm.  Can you guess which year we lived in Kentucky?  All other years in Minnesota involved a. cold, b. snow, and c. post tree-getting hot cocoa.

2004

2005 – this photo was taken at about 5pm.  Amazing how daylight hours are shortened during the winter here! Jason had to chop down this one by flashlight.

2006 (this is the year we lived in Kentucky… something about cutting down a tree without a winter coat didn’t seem quite right.  so we moved back to Minnesota.)

2007 – This past year, we went to a “Trees for Toys” event at our realtor’s office.  So no photos of Jason cutting down a tree…

I love that some of the things on our list have even turned into traditions (like chopping down a Christmas tree, and hitting up every zoo we’re near)!  It also amazes me that most of the things on my list are somewhat ordinary, everyday things (e.g., washing dishes, doing laundry)… It kind of seems silly to actually want to do those things together now that we live together and have to do those things together all the time.  But!  When taken in the context that we were thousands of miles apart when the list was made, it’s a good reminder of how much more fun it is to do those sorts of everyday things together than it was when we were apart.

What are your favorite memories/traditions from before you were married?  Are there any little everyday things that you enjoy more now that you’re together?

Entry filed under: Wedding. Tags: , , , , , , , .

he’s so pretty! gas and graduation

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theperryfamily  |  June 4, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    WE CAN HELP YOU CROSS OFF #5, #41, AND #42 IF YOU COME WITH US ON OUR 3 DAY CAMPING/CANOE TRIP TO THE BOUNDARY WATERS IN JULY! IF YOU ARE LUCKY, I CAN READ YOU SOME POETRY AND DAD CAN SHARE SOME RAUNCHY LIMERICKS WHILE WE PADDLE (#24) AND WITH PLANNING, #15 COULD BE KNOCKED OFF AS WELL. COULD CANADA PASS FOR PART OF EUROPE? IT USED TO BE CONTROLLED BY GREAT BRITAIN??…..

    Reply
  • 2. Ashley  |  June 5, 2008 at 1:13 am

    You know, you could knock off a lot of these things at one time…
    After planning what exactly you will do where (maybe with help from super trip planner Mom) back pack through Europe and camp out instead of sleeping in a hotel (who needs a shower or a toilet with running water?) While there, for entertainment purposes go to the Opera and a poetry reading (I’m sure they would be better over there). When it is really necessary, you could use your super sweet squirt guns to help clean you off (thus a squirt gun fight). While on your travels you could both read the same book (one on beer brewing?) and discuss it too. At night, since you will be in a tent, you guys could lay outside and star gaze. If you stick around in one spot for a day or two, you can pull out the soccer ball and kick it around, or go fishing in the near by lake, you could maybe even find a mountain to hike up (are there even any mountains there?) If you make it far enough north maybe there will even be snow left and you could get that snow man built…
    I think that would help you cross off 1, 5, 7, 9, 14, 15, 18, 21, 24, 41, and 42… then you would only have to complete 9 before you get married… Just a thought!

    When you guys come into town this weekend, you could get #23 done… some rhubarb pie sounds really good for some reason…

    Reply
  • 3. Debbie  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:38 am

    Jen, I can’t believe with all the winters(and I do mean Minnesota winters -brrrr) you haven’t built a snowman together. Jason can build a killer snow fort! You’ve been so involved in home remodeling projects, you haven’t had time for the simple things in life.
    I’m sure the Fells and Christopher will be happy to challenge you to a soccer game anytime you want.
    I still have not ever been fishing and I’ve been around a looonngg time!
    Most of our traditions involve things we do with the kids; maybe now Kevin, Jason and Bridget will carry them over to the grandchildren. I hope so. I love passing on traditions.
    I hope you and Jason have a lifetime of new traditions to enjoy!

    Reply
  • 4. GGG GpaCC  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:41 am

    OMG. Idon’t remember being that ambitious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 5. GGG GpaGG  |  June 5, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Better do it now cause when MY new baby arrives you won’t have the time or energy.
    Luv ya
    GpaGG

    Reply
  • 6. D  |  June 5, 2008 at 10:09 am

    OK….#15 can be done when you come down (Shaved ice with a bit of warm weather makes for a GREAT snow ball fight and a great snowman…I have about 5 yards of fresh snow to go…)
    #45 nobody ever wins…. Remember the never ending song that you would sing in the car??? same concept, it ends when everyone is sick of it.
    #2 will be the best one…. Jason can wear the “wife beater” and you can pick up a pair of heals from the 70’s….
    #50 will be tough in 4 months… I suggest you just make up your own… Here is a start… ash phin cters ayswatt?
    #24- Jason, two words…. I Pod

    And lastly…. what do you think the Orangutan is thinking?

    Reply
  • 7. GGG GpaGG  |  June 5, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    go back to the 2nd- that wasn’t Grampa that wanted to paint the garage. I don’t know how he horned in on mycomments. I’ll have to do something about that. I’ll do it but I want to paint every board a different color!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 8. mom  |  June 9, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    I thought I taught you not to swear! (I hate that cr– word!)

    You know our motto ~ Do as we say, not as we do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts


