he’s so pretty!

June 3, 2008 at 10:30 pm 5 comments

Last night, we were back in action at doggy school. Barley again was the dunce of the class, and again had to stay outside the ring while learning tricks. This week, I made Jason train him while I sat and watched. It was nice. Especially the part where one of the other ladies that was watching started chatting with me. She looked over at Barley and goes, “He’s so pretty!” and he looks back and starts wagging his tail. He’s such a funny dog.

The boys. I am so so so tempted to make a real dunce cap for Barley to wear to class.

He’s also recently taken to laying in the dirt piles around our house. He’s going to be seriously mad when we fill those in with flowers and mulch. Each day after work, JT or I (whoever gets home first) lets him out to do his business, only lately, he’s been running outside and plopping himself down in the dirt, and he’s happy to just lay there for hours.

He has so many nicknames: Lazy Dog. Dirty Dog. Sun Dog. (picture glammed up using picnik).

Another super-awesome thing he does is that he barks at all the sketchy people that come near our house. For example, one of our neighbors’ kids looks like he’s up to no good, and when his friends come over, they all admire our handsome doggy. They try to stick their hands through the fence to pet him. And that’s when Barley barks and growls to let them know that they should stay. the heck. away.

And R. Favorite? Barley hates him. A little back story: R. Favorite is the neighbor’s fence man (and yes, that is seriously his name). He seems like a nice enough guy, but –how do I put this nicely?– perhaps missing some of the normal social graces we’ve come to expect from anyone who is remotely sane. For example, there was this dialog (keep in mind we’ve only talked to this guy like twice before this):

SCENE: Jen’s parents are visiting for the weekend. It is Sunday evening, and after a long weekend of fence-building, Jason and Jen are putting the final touches on the front section of the fence, Jen is holding a level while Jason screws in the fence plank. Enter R. Favorite.

R.: Hey, you guys are in the medical field, right?

Jen: [slightly puzzled] umm… yeah.

R.: Well, you might be interested to know that I hold the Guinness Book World Record for largest kidney stone passed.

Jason: [Crippled with shock and amazement]

Jen: [Trying to be polite] Oh, really.

R.: Yeah, I’ve got another one growing right now!

Seriously. I am not making this up.

Anyways, we can’t really figure out what this guy’s deal is since he never shows up until after 4:30pm to work on the neighbor’s fence. We originally had him give us a quote for our fence. He came in at $5100. We did the project ourselves for about $700. But! When he quoted us, he had a little schedule and is scheduled like months in advance and also referred to his “team” or “crew” which, unless it consists of multiple personalities, we have yet to meet.

So, we don’t mind that Barley barks his head off when R. Favorite shows up. In fact, we try to encourage it.

Entry filed under: Barley, Barley the cowardly bully, School. Tags: , , , , , .

i’ll have my cake, and eat it, too! only 4 months until the big day!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  June 3, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    C’mon, his last name is really Favorite?

    Reply
  • 2. Ashley  |  June 4, 2008 at 3:04 am

    So I was going to comment on your blogs last night cuz I read about a million! (I haven’t been keeping up) I came across one of your entries from mid May, I believe, about the guy who had the best and worst time all within 27 hours. I was up reading and looking at his pictures. 4 hours and a roll of TP later, I came to realize that some people are incredibly strong… I don’t think I could do what he has been doing. Seriously, if anyone needs to get a good cry out check out this Matt guy’s blog.

    Anyways, I think that would be really funny if you showed up to doggy school with a dunce cap for Barley! The picture of Barley dog looks like a professional picture, kinda like something Jonathan Roob would have on his wall… Creepy and not sure why he came to mind.

    R. Favorite? Seriously??? I don’t even know what to say to that story other than I’m laying in bed laughing so hard I’m crying. Who says something like that to people he doesn’t even know!?!

    Reply
  • 3. Uncle Brian  |  June 4, 2008 at 9:29 am

    Did R. Favorite put the kidney stone on Ebay?
    Someone bought William Shatners kidney stone.
    R. Favorite could make some money, especially if the stone has the image of the Virgin Mary on it. Cha-Ching!!

    Reply
  • 4. D  |  June 4, 2008 at 9:43 am

    And wouldn’t it be funny if Kevin’s (sorry I mentioned him as Larry) last name was Girley? Now, having seen R., I can fully understand the stone comment. (Jen you are a DOCTOR!.). An achievment like that one should never hide! The thing I don’t get…. can he REALLY Grow them at will? Should have asked.
    I would have figured living in KY that you would have been prepared for a conversation like this.
    P.S. I am sure that I never mentioned the Guinness Book world record toe nail clipping that looks like a sunset over the mountains…. Yup, 40 years old and still looks like it was clipped yesterday!

    Reply
  • 5. jp  |  June 4, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    @Mom – YES! That is really his name! And if I still had his business card, I would scan it in to prove it to you.
    @Ashley – Welcome back to the blog!
    @Brian – I suspect he didn’t sell on Ebay, or he wouldn’t have to overcharge me as much for a fence.
    @Dad – Maybe you should have sold that clipping on Ebay as Uncle Brian suggested for the kidney stone…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts


