i’ll have my cake, and eat it, too!

June 2, 2008 at 10:34 pm 3 comments

*please note that I am drooling while writing this. the cake is that good.*

After we selected our wedding caterer, selecting a cake maker was pretty easy. Why? Because, Chef Jack said that Susan of Brookfield Wedding Cakes is the best. And we just trusted him and went with it. And boy-oh-boy are we glad that we did!

Jason and I meet with Susan, the cakemaker. Notice our big smiles – we had just tasted the most delicious wedding cake ever.

We met with Susan in April to pick out our cake. Again, we are going the simple but elegant route. This time, though, it’s simple but elegant with a side of mmmm, yummy. We opted for the tuxedo cake (that’s one layer of chocolate and one layer of -umm- yellow? what flavor is yellow cake anyways?). We’ll have buttercream frosting with a chocolate butter cream inside. (Neither one of us is big on fruit-flavored cake or filling. Unless it’s carrot cake. With cream cheese frosting. I love me some of that!) Are you drooling yet? Excuse me, I have to go wipe off my keyboard. Let me leave you with some photos of cake designs that we like.

[Image Source]

[Image Source]

[Image Source]

[Image Source]

[Image Source]

So, basically, I like 3 things: 1. bows, 2. polka dots, 3. squiggles. Also, white frosting is a must-have, with only 1 other accent color. Simple. Elegant. (as elegant as a cake can get, I suppose. methinks “elegant” is not a standard descriptor for cakes.)

I also thought I would end this post by comforting those concerned parties who thought that we were seriously considering placing stuffed mice on the top of the cake. Don’t worry! There will be no dead mice near your food! Instead, we’ll go with flowers up top. Because I haven’t really found any cake toppers that scream Jen and Jason. Although, this is tempting:

[Image Source]

Entry filed under: Delish, Good Things, Uncategorized, Wedding. Tags: , , , .

a less controversial garden post? he’s so pretty!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  June 3, 2008 at 4:51 am

    Um! Yum!

    Reply
  • 2. GGG GpaCC  |  June 4, 2008 at 11:23 am

    I can’t remember if I told you that I have the top that Grandma and Grandpa Great had on their cake. It is a gold wedding band with an angel sitting on it. Just a thought!

    Reply
  • 3. jp  |  June 4, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    @GGG – I want to come take a look at that cake topper!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts


