Bill in my pocket (or on my shoulder)

May 22, 2008 at 9:39 pm 4 comments

Hi Everyone! I want to introduce you to my friend, Bill. (Everyone: Hi, Bill!) Bill is officially the most organized person I know. For example, we both have papers due July 1. Bill’s was written 2 months ago. And who has not even started writing her paper? Yes, yours truly. Also, Bill’s house, car, and desk are always clean. At least, I’ve only seen them when they’re clean. And dinner parties? Bill’s dinner parties are FANTASTIC. Why? Because he’s so organized about everything that when you get to Bill’s house, you have enough time for a taste of the appetizers, followed by a prompt dinner, and dessert! Bill always has dessert! This amazes me because I don’t think JT and I have ever thrown a dinner party where dinner was actually ready before 9:00pm. And travel with Bill? Unbelievable! Bill takes care of all the details well in advance, and you can just sit back, relax, and enjoy the ride. The bottom line? Bill is always so organized!

Jason and Bill pose for the camera in Quebec City.

Which is why I decided that I need a Bill in my pocket… or on my shoulder, for that matter. I’ve found that the secret to success with wedding planning (and house selling, and house buying, and starting a new job) is undoubtedly STAYING ORGANIZED. Anyone who has called or emailed in the last few months surely knows how disorganized and flaky I’ve been through all of this (because they likely did not get a timely response from me, if they’ve gotten one at all). But all that is going to change! I am determined to get organized! And, I figure the easiest way to do this would be to clone Bill, and put him to work for me. Right?

Bill on my shoulder. It could work, right?

Okay, maybe not. But a girl can dream, can’t she? Actually, I’ve started keeping a to-do notebook. I found a stylish little notebook that will fit in my purse, bookbag, etc, and I bring it everywhere. I’ve got one page dedicated to my current “to do” list and other pages dedicated to “wedding ideas.” I think this will organize my life in ways it’s never been organized before. Having everything in one place will be great, since I have recently been seen frantically sorting through the 45 post-it notes that have accumulated in my bookbag, desperately searching for the one note with the information I need.

My new best friend.

I kind of also love these notebooks from roska at etsy:

Cute and fun, no? I like the bright colors.

Anyone have any other suggestions on staying organized? What keeps you on track?

Entry filed under: Good Things, Silly, Wedding. Tags: , , .

loco for gocco our zany caterer

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  May 22, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    What keeps me on track is actually responding to emails right away instead of writing on a blog first. That way I know I sent out that vital wedding information and checklist someone was waiting for so they could proceed instead of leaving them wondering if someone was trying to ignore them….maybe if I puked or stared at the strange dog next to me I could get some response???

    PS Your grandma wants to know if you are serious about the cake toppers?

    Reply
  • 2. Bill.  |  May 23, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Thanks for the shout out Jen–I’d be happy to clone a little me to keep in your hand bag.
    xoxo.

    Reply
  • 3. GGG  |  May 23, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I could use a Bill too. After being organized for tooooooooooooo many years I don’t want to do it anymore! When you clone that Bill make two!

    Reply
  • 4. jp  |  May 27, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    BILLS FOR EVERYONE! YAY!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts


