simple, yet elegant

May 21, 2008 at 10:44 pm 3 comments

Jason and I decided (a long time ago) that our wedding vibe is going to be “simple, yet elegant”. Accordingly, we are going to tell guests that our event is “black tie invited” (invited because we would love it if all of our guests showed up in tuxes and beautiful dresses, but it realistically may not be feasible given that at least 50% of our guests will be coming from out of town).

One of my favorite simple yet elegant elements in our wedding is the bridesmaid dress. Honestly, I had been eyeing up these black, floor-length dresses from Ann Taylor Celebrations for almost a year before Jason even popped the question. And then! We got engaged and they went on sale! And I thought, it’s a sign! Always one to enjoy a bargain, I quickly called the ladies and had them order the dresses. At $70 each, it would be hard to go wrong.

My mom was a bit skeptical about having the bridesmaids wear black at first (“It will look like they’re going to a funeral” she commented), but I think she’s convinced now (or if she’s not, she’s at least being a good sport and keeping her mouth shut! Love you, mom!). Black was simply the most flattering choice for my ladies who have varying skin tones. I also love the a-line skirt and I think it’s a look that everyone will be beautiful in. I almost wish I had bought one for myself!

I also wanted elements of my dress to be echoed in the bridesmaid’s garb… although, at the time, I hadn’t purchased, or even looked at wedding dresses. I did know that I wanted a strapless dress, though, and with the simple lines of these, I couldn’t really go wrong. I also purchased ivory sashes to be worn with the dress, although I am beginning to reconsider them. The ivory doesn’t look quite right with my dress, which is sort of a white-ivory-champagne-silvery color, and the ladies will (presumably) be standing next to me, at least for the ceremony. I’ll be headed home in 2 weeks for a girls only wedding weekend, and I hope to have one/some of my maids try on the dress and sash so that I can see the full look in person. (I’ll also be buying shoes, a veil, and other fun girly stuff – stay tuned!!).

How did you choose your bridesmaid’s dresses?  Was it important that they match your gown?  Were you able to fit them into your wedding theme?

Entry filed under: Wedding.

a relaxing week loco for gocco

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mandy  |  May 22, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Hey, hobo man! Hey, dapper Dan! You’ve both got your style. But brother, you’re never fully dressed without a smile!

    (Dress looks gorgeous. I will try to bring myself at the apex of cute.)

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  May 22, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Jen, I’ll try to wear a beautiful dress. But I have a feeling it will be adorned with baby spit-up, drool, ground-in cheerios, and the other ephemera of my life. I apologize in advance for looking like a (well-dressed) hobo at your wedding.

    Reply
  • 3. GGG GpaCC  |  June 4, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Now that I think about it, how elegant does a Grandma have to be? And what about the Grandpa? If he has to wear his Tux we’ll have to have it altered again. We don’t want to have him losing his pants at that simple but elegant affair!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts


