a relaxing week

May 20, 2008 at 11:28 pm 2 comments

At least, I intend for this week to be a little more relaxing than previous weeks. Upon realization that I have had several big life changing events in the past 6 months or so (moving, changing jobs, getting engaged, selling a house, buying a house), I decided that all has gone pretty well. Even if all has been at least a little stressful, and even if I am hardly organized or reliable about these things.

So I think I will dedicate this week (or what’s left of it) to relaxing and taking a deep breath (or at least trying to).

Relaxing week started off this afternoon with a work happy hour. Everyone I work with is just really great. Super-nice, laid back, and smart! There are some smart cookies at the office! (And FYI, I have decided to stick with my current job, so you can’t call me professor jp just yet. For now, it’s just dr. jp.)

Tonight, Andrea and her sister, Maria, hosted a spa party! It was so fun to have a girls night and to catch up with Andrea and some other fantastic ladies that I haven’t seen in a while. And the spa treatments were fun. My hands and feet are so unbelievably soft right now… Ahhh.

Friday I am cashing in on the massage gift certificate that Jason got me for valentine’s day, and then I suspect he will take me out for a date (ahem, hint, hint, jt). I earned that massage in Fall 2005, when I passed my preliminary examination, but jt kept me waiting for the past 3 years! hee hee. And I have been too chicken to schedule an appointment for the last 3 months, but I finally did it. Something about people I don’t know touching my naked body freaks me out. Actually, people I do know touching me also freaks me out sometimes. I’m just not really touchy-feely.

Anyways, what was I saying before I confessed my secret oddities to the world? Oh yes, massage. I’ve wanted one for a while, but am nervous. (Molly, Maria, and Andrea were good enough to give me advice tonight, and told me what to expect). I think it will be great, though, especially if they can work the knots out of my upper back and shoulders in time for them to re-form while installing brick pavers this weekend. That would be swell.

And that is my ode to relaxation in 2000 words or less.  What (other than wedding planning) is keeping you busy?  And how have you managed to escape from the stress of it all?

Entry filed under: much ado about nothing. Tags: , , , .

doggy school dunces simple, yet elegant

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  May 21, 2008 at 5:11 am

    Enjoy your massage; you certainly have earned it! I apologize for you having to wait so long to receive it. Jason wasn’t raised that way.
    I hope the rest of the week and weekend are relaxing for you and I hope you get the kinks worked out of your knee! Have a good one!

    Reply
  • 2. Uncle Brian  |  May 22, 2008 at 11:57 am

    One suggestion when installing your brick patio. Wrap your fingers with duct tape. The bricks have very sharp edges when they come out of the factory. (unless they are tumbled bricks)
    I installed my patio with bare hands and received hundreds of tiny paper cuts that I didn’t realize where there until washing my hangs………..STING!!!!!!
    Good Luck and Have Fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts


