wedding things

May 14, 2008 at 9:51 pm 5 comments

I have recently discovered google reader. It is dangerous. Very dangerous. For those not familiar with it, it checks websites for recent updates and then notifies you when the site is updated. So, of course, I have subscribed to a million wedding blogs. And they all have the coolest stuff! For a minute, I was getting all pouty and sullen about this wedding planning business – there’s just so much to do, and so little time to do it in! But NOW! I AM SO EXCITED AND I WANT EVERY LITTLE DETAIL TO BE PERFECT. <Jason Groans. He knows this means he will a) be recruited to either listen to me rant and rave and b) have to complete extra tasks, including many trips to the craft store.>

Here are some things we’d (I’d) like to have at our wedding/reception. (This is more a reminder for myself than anything else, but if you have an opinion, you can share it!)

*An old-fashioned mailbox! I just think it would be fun, a kick back to the old days.

*Black and white photos of our parents, grandparents, great-grandparents, etc. on their wedding day. (So parents and grandparents, feel free to start pulling those out). We’re fortunate to have such great examples of good marriages all around us, why not show off some pictures at the reception?

*Calligraphy. I think it would be a fun way to add a formal touch to the wedding. I’m hoping to learn how to do it myself, so that it could be fun AND homemade. It’s all about the personal touch, right?

*Little Cards. I also have just discovered and love these little cards (they also make stickers and cards, which I am also eyeing up) – picture on the front, a little message from us on the back. Could be fun little “thank you’ notes, maybe attach them to favors? Speaking of, any recommendations on favors? I thought a little package of swedish fish might be fun since they’re part of our engagement story, but they’re not necessarily as formal as would be expected at an event as classy as we hope our wedding will be. Another of my favorite ideas is donating money in our guests names to a good cause.

  • *A candy bar. I love candy! The idea is that you get a bunch of glass jars, fill them with your favorite candy or candy that goes with your colors and let guests pack their own treat bag. How many sugar-loaded kids do you think we could get out on the dance floor by the end of the night?

    *PHOTO BOOTH PHOTO BOOTH PHOTO BOOTH! Infinite amounts of fun… I want one so bad! Just got to find the right one!

    *Pretty jewelry. I have also recently found hautebride.com and really love their jewelry and whatnot. It’s dramatic and fun and could totally be worn with my dress. So I will be on the lookout for look-a-likes that can be found locally. I love how glam these headbands are, and also the mix of pearls and diamonds on the bracelet below. So if anybody just… umm… happens? to have this sort of stuff laying around and actually trusts me to borrow it, let me know.

  • Alright, deep breath. Breathe in, breathe out. Phew. It’s just all these cute little details are really getting my hyped for the big day… In other wedding news, we’ve tentatively picked some readings. Here they are:

    Ecclesiastes 4:9-12
    Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor.
    For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion.
    But woe to the one who falls when there is not another to lift him up.
    Furthermore, if two lie down together they keep warm, but how can one be warm alone?
    And if one can overpower him who is alone, two can resist him. A cord of three strands is not quickly torn apart.

    “To Be One With Each Other” by George Eliot
    What greater thing is there for two human souls
    than to feel that they are joined together to strengthen
    each other in all labor, to minister to each other in all sorrow,
    to share with each other in all gladness,
    to be one with each other in the
    silent unspoken memories?

    We’ll change them if we find something we like better, but so far, those are what we like. And that is your wedding update for now. Time to go organize some pictures to get them ready for the slideshow my mom is going to put together!

    Entry filed under: Good Things, Wedding.

    the terrible twos? our wedding reception site

    5 Comments Add your own

    • 1. Debbie  |  May 14, 2008 at 10:12 pm

      I love the idea of donating money to charities! The Fells and Chris may like the candy idea. (Erin , if you’re reading this, I’m sure you’d like a cotton candy machine).
      Whatever you choose, we will all have fun and love it. I’ll get some more pictures together for you.

      Reply
    • 2. Kevin Lampard  |  May 15, 2008 at 12:28 am

      Great info. Thanks

      Reply
    • 3. Navillusette  |  May 15, 2008 at 1:33 am

      A candy bar is such a fun idea. Have fun with all the planning 🙂

      Reply
    • 4. Amy  |  May 15, 2008 at 6:00 pm

      Kevin almost went into pre-sugar-shock at the idea of a candy bar. (After I said: like an alcohol bar, with candy…he thought I meant that you’d have Snickers and Milky Ways and stuff. Cool, but not nearly as cool a a candy bar.)

      Moo is another reason why you should just suck it up and get a Flickr account…they’re partners, so all of your photos are available. I’ve not come up with a good project for the minicards yet, but I think they’re pretty cool.

      For the charities: you could have your guests vote on one of three or four charities to donate their “share” to – it might give them a greater sense of participation and enjoyment in the favor. You could select a few charities that have personal impact on your and your families lives, explain what those impacts are, and then have guests make their choices and leave their cards for someone to tally up.

      Reply
    • 5. GGG  |  May 16, 2008 at 2:57 pm

      I’ll let you wear my bling with your birthstones it but it is all set in gold and as I remember you usually wear silver jewelry. I’ll show you when you come home the next time.

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    May 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

    Recent Posts


