the terrible twos?

May 13, 2008 at 8:47 pm 3 comments

Last night was a HORRIBLE night at doggy school… the worst one yet. Usually, Barley just does things that are a little annoying – less than perfect behavior. But last night! Oh! He went above and beyond annoying…

At first, he was just uber-distractable. As in, paid attention to everything BUT me, was NOT interested in treats. AT ALL. What dog does not want treats!? Instead, he was interested in the weimerener directly to our right. He kept staring at the dog, and the dog would whine back, which would only intensify Barley’s staring. Then, we started moving around the room, and Barley lost control. He was all barking and trying to get the weimerener’s attention and just being generally obnoxious and disruptive. After the THIRD barking incident, the teacher came over and told me that she wanted me to keep him in the corner, sitting, and just give him a treat any time he looked at me. For 30 minutes.

After class, all the other dogs left and we stayed to talk to the teacher. She said she’d give him another week in the class, but if he’s disruptive again next week, he’s kicked out of the class! She’ll refer him to their behaviorist! Crap.

I was so stressed out and pissed off by the end of class that I was almost in tears. Freaking dog can do his homework perfectly at home, but freaks out in public!?! Uggh. Ridiculous. The whole thing was ridiculous. (And since I made fun of my neighbor for crying about his cat last week, I feel even worse for being hypocritical. Who cries about a pet anyways!?)

The teacher did suggest, though, that maybe this is because he’s two and reaching maturity, so he’s trying to push the limits. Is this true? Anyone witness changes in their dog’s personality at age 2? Because I’m not sure that I buy it. I’m more inclined to think that there is just something about this weimerener that Barley finds interesting… he doesn’t seem interested in any of the other dogs in the class.

So, the dog is grounded this week. I think he knew we were mad last night, because he was just slinking around here after school… And, today, he emailed Jason to ask him to pick up the new Death Cab for Cutie CD for me, since they are my favorite and the new CD came out today. He’s trying to show me that he’s sorry!

Jason must have felt bad about everything, too (he was there to witness my frustration last night), because he came home with flowers and swedish fish! And I LOVE flowers and swedish fish! So thoughtful!

Entry filed under: Barley, School.

House Project #2, Phase 4 wedding things

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. D  |  May 14, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Ahhhh… let’s see… 2= 14 in dog years and rebeleous boy, 2 passive aggressive owners…Hmmmm… I could buy the instructors assesment.
    OR…
    It is all crap, the dog does what he wants to and humors you when HE wants to. Man up and spank the dog, finish the gates on the fence and that becomes his “isolation cell” until he “get’s a clue”. Cut the whining and deal with it….

    Frankly, the dog people I have seen at the one doggie school we attended have way MORE issues than a dog barking at another dog. Maybe you need to threaten him with military school.

    Reply
  • 2. tp  |  May 14, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Let me just warn you that our whole house remodel started with Baylor’s 1 1/2 to 2 year old “phase”. What seemed like a nice, adequately controlled dog turned into a pencil eating, library book mauling, drywall digging destructo-dog. Lucky for her I wanted new flooring in the back hall anyway. Eventually she outgrew it (like maybe around the time you moved in here).

    Reply
  • 3. mom  |  May 15, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    omg, what have I gotten myself into?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts


