House Project #2, Phase 2

May 1, 2008 at 9:02 pm 4 comments

By now, you’re all aware of the madness taking place on the South side of the house. Today we’ve crossed off another project on the list, and it was the easiest project to date. I didn’t have to lift a finger (except to pull out the credit card… and that was a little painful for yours truly).

Before:

After:

Looks good, right? And is much safer, and also a little more tornado proof than the old windows (perfect timing since part of MN is under tornado watch right now). And this makes me a very happy girl, because I am paranoid about: 1. someone breaking in the house while I’m sleeping, and 2. tornadoes. More on that breaking-in paranoia later – JT’s got theories (of course, he is a scientist after all). The tornado paranoia I blame mostly on the middle-of-the-night trips to the basement frequently experienced as a child. What can I say? My mom just loved me too much to let me blow away in a storm. Dad, on the other hand… well, he loves me, too, but more in the I-know-it’s-raining-and-windy -but-the-back-of-the-house-just-blew-off-and-I-need-you-to-help-stop-the- rain-from-coming-in-despite-the-electrical-wires-hanging-in-the-way. Father-daughter relationships are unique. Yes? Anyways, other born-and-bred midwesterners that I know seem to have similar feelings about tornadoes, so its normal. Maybe.

Anyways, the windows. The window installers got here and Barley barked at them. A lot. Which is fantastic, because that’s exactly what I want him to do – bark at strange men who are walking around the yard. I went to talk to them, and from then on, Barley thought they were here to play with them, and proceeded to follow them around. He was really confused when they started removing the old windows and were looking out at him from the basement. He finally calmed down for a while, but wouldn’t go inside, so I was able to sit outside and read for a bit. And I took some pictures. I actually played around with the color of these a bit. I think it works. I’m also working on a new header for the blog, so stay tuned.


sundog sunbathes.

sundog cannot be bothered to fetch the red ball. and if he CAN be bothered, you’re gonna have to wrestle it away from him.

Entry filed under: Barley, Garden, Home, Improvements.

bye bye, second winter House Project #2, Phase 3

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. D  |  May 2, 2008 at 7:24 am

    OK so you really didn’t understand the statistical model (it took me a while to process at 2:45am but…) I used to to assess the posibilities of injury. Obviously, my calculations were correct…. nothing but wet.
    See- http://www.spc.noaa.gov/publications/thompson/dpi/dpi.htm

    Also the odds of getting killed by a tornado are less than being struck by lighting and winning the lottery (always wondered… if you win the lottery do you then lose all of the built up good luck? Do you have to start over? How about “cheating death” isn’t this dishonest?).
    Jen you and Mom can go in the basement… I would like to meet the wizard.

    Reply
  • 2. GGG  |  May 2, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I’m guessing D is your Dad, right. I’m assuming that’s where you got you sense of humor. (passed down from your Grandfather) I put one of those windows in my basement and I don’t know about tornadoes but it will keep the water out GGG

    Reply
  • 3. Debbie  |  May 4, 2008 at 5:48 am

    I love the new blog design!
    I told Jason yesterday how great the windows look also. I’ve always liked the look of them.Light comes in but they also give you a sense of privacy.
    Have a good week! I’ll be” smooching up” my little man; can’t wait!

    Reply
  • 4. Dorothy  |  May 4, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    D– Maybe when you meet the wizard you could ask for a heart? (oh, that was mean but I couldn’t resist!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts


