Barley School: Part 2

March 6, 2008 at 10:24 pm 3 comments

In this week’s adventure, Barley puked during his doggy class – twice. Guess that slip collar wasn’t doing him any favors. This week he actually paid attention to me and he performed most of his tricks with relatively little persuading. He’s getting better at not pulling on his leash, and he’s also getting “sit”, “down”, and sequences of those two behaviors. On a side note, it’s embarrassing how long Jason and I laughed about this:

What if the dog eats his OWN homework?

I haven’t written in a while because I’ve been… well… writing. And developing a conceptual model of addiction. I’d tell you about it, but I think that using this blog as a forum for intellectual matters might make it explode.

Barley is the ultimate intellectual.

We had a low-key weekend last weekend, and this one looks to be low-key as well. I was keeping up on my running and ran a total of 7 miles last weekend (on two separate occasions), but my old running shoes made my knee hurt and I’ve been hobbling around since my 4 mile run with Tinen on Sunday. Ow! So, no more running until I buy new shoes and a knee brace.

Barley knows that “homework” = treats. And sometimes the treats fall under the furniture when doing homework. And Barley has to get every last one.

Monday was doggy school (mentioned above). Tuesday, Jason adopted another roommate – a pueblan milksnake named Burt. Yes, we’re going to start charging people to come to our snake zoo. And, no, I’m not thrilled. I have lukewarm feelings towards Burt. But! Just wait till there’s something that I *really* want to do – and Jason can’t really say no, right? Plus, he’s been extra nice to me this week, which might be an attempt to make me feel better while I’ve been stressed out and working extra hours the past 2 weeks – or – it’s cause he’s so happy I let him get another pet. Either way, I’ll take the extra niceness. Like him bringing me KitKats so I can sit on the couch and blog.

Burt, the snake.

Last night, Jason picked me up from work, again with the niceness? It was a welcome change from taking the bus – especially since I’ve been making new, stinky, and probably drunk friends at the bus stop recently. I haven’t figured out what it is about me that makes these crazies think they should strike up a conversation with me, but I feel obligated to talk back, lest they think I’m rude and go postal on me. If you know what I mean. Tuesday, on my way over to the U for a seminar (free lunch!), I stopped at the nearby bus stop, where a 40-something man is slamming a 40. “I just want you to know I’m slamming this beer to cure my hangover. Sorry if you’re offended.” He says. No, I’m not offended – honestly, I could care less what this guy does as long as leaving me alone is in the plan. Clearly it wasn’t, though, since he proceeded to talk to me for the next 20 minutes, skipping 3 buses headed in his direction to do so. Oy! I have a feeling that at some point, the charm of taking the bus is really going to wear on me.

Anyways, last night. Our search for Kaffir Lime leaves led us to a cute little asian grocery store on 28th and Nicollet, where we also stocked up on curry pastes and coconut milk. Why the search? I actually -gasp- made dinner. I made a thai soup – I think it’s called Tom Kah Yum at restaurants. It’s sort of a lemony-coconuty soup with chicken and mushrooms. Jason even claims to have liked it, even though he doesn’t like soup or coconut milk (again with the extra niceness?).

Tonight, we attended a class at Archivers, the scrapbooking store, to learn about making wedding invites, save-the-date cards, etc. Yeah, WE. I somehow persuaded JT to step into his most hated store for a full hour. Extra niceness it is. You can’t tell me that he was actually interested in how to paste paper together to make a pretty invitation.

Entry filed under: Barley, Burt, engagement, mmm... dinner!, School.

Barley’s First Day of School Code Red, Purple Building

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  March 6, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    You don’t have enough to do? You are actually going to make your own invitations? What do you do in your “spare” time? What an ambitious undertaking!

    Reply
  • 2. Jason  |  March 7, 2008 at 10:03 am

    C’mon! I’m always nice to you and you know it!

    That class would’ve been a lot more interesting had they actually taught us how to paste paper together instead of saying, “These are the products we carry that you could possibly use to make your invitations.” At least if we had paste, then I could’ve eaten it.

    Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  March 10, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Sounds like a huge request is in the works! The last time your dad was that nice to me I think he went on a “guys only” ski trip while I manned the shop and ran all over SE WI to hockey games. Sounds like a set up to me…..time will tell. (I don’t mean to imply that you don’t deserve to be treated nicely; extra brownie points for Jason if there really are no strings attached!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


