a special goodbye treat

September 10, 2007 at 9:42 pm 4 comments

As I was packing up my desk today (our lab is moving from the 2nd to the 4th floor of the building we’re in), I noticed a little surprise under the desk.

It was a mouse!

Don’t worry, it was smooshed in the spring-loaded trap that killed it.  I was informed that I had to pick it up and throw it away (thank goodness there were gloves handy).  Even worse, I was expected to pull the mouse out of the trap, reset the trap, and put it back under my desk.

Does anyone else find that a little ridiculous?

(FYI: I donned lab gloves and threw out the entire trap.  You can’t tell me that the University doesn’t have $0.20 to buy a new trap – especially since I’ve got their rodent extermination costs covered.)

I’m going to file this one under things I hope I don’t have to do at my new job.

Entry filed under: etc.

shocking things i learned today $110 in 20 minutes

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Onora  |  September 12, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    Ah, disposing of the mouse traps…yes, fond memories from grad school in Baltimore. It only got better in Seattle. Our BRAND NEW Public Health Building has a rat infestation (anyone else see the irony?!). Mr. Rat was nice enough to greet me on the top floor of the reasonably tall building and eat both my apple and a banana at my desk…He seemed to prefer the apple. And he can open drawers and get into packaged almonds too. Clever fella.
    Here’s to a mouse (trap) free MN!

    Reply
  • 2. jp  |  September 13, 2007 at 10:17 am

    Yuck!

    Maybe disposal of rodents is part of every job? I mean, I suspected that I would have some rodent disposal at this (and my next) job, but I assumed my rodent disposal duties would be limited to those used for scientific purposes (so that I could hum taps while I walked them to the morgue).

    Anyone else have yucky rodent stories?

    Reply
  • 3. Amy  |  September 13, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Not super yucky, but the used book store where I used to work had a couple of mice. It’s not surprising since it was, in a previous life, an old little house, and our manager liked to buy peanuts from this itinerant peanut farmer from Georgia. I wasn’t so much scared of the mice as startled by them, as they’d pop up behind the counter when I least expected it.

    Oh, but it was yucky…I just remembered the day I discovered the Poop Farm. Yeah. Gross.

    Was this mouse that you disposed of an escaped lab mouse? That would be cool.

    Reply
  • 4. jp  |  September 13, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    I’m pretty sure it was a field mouse – not an escaped lab mouse. I would have felt much better about it if it was an escaped lab mouse (less likelihood of yucky germies or disease).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Recent Posts


