note to self: you are no longer 21.

September 8, 2007 at 10:32 pm 1 comment

I had leftover chicken from last weekend’s cookout, and I stuffed some of it in Barley’s Kong. It took him over 4 hours to get it out.

The Kong: entertainer of the year

I’d like to say that it was a very productive 4 hours, since I’ve got quite a lot on my plate now, but it really wasn’t. I napped. (or tried to nap – every time I’d fall asleep, Barley would get the Kong stuck under the couch or Jason would call, and I’d wake up).

Why the nap? Because I went out Thursday night for 2-for-1 margarita night, and even though I intended to eat some tacos and leave after an hour, I ended up out with the gang until 1:30. AM. And I was so sleepy (and a little dehydrated) Friday morning that work was less fun than usual. Oh man. Oh man. I clearly am not in college any more, because if I were, getting less than 4 hours of sleep (and drinking multiple margs) would NOT have been an issue.

More proof that I’m not 21 anymore:

21-year olds do not bake doggy treats on a Saturday night

Yes, those are home-made dog treats. I was feeling a bit Martha Stewart-ish today, and decided to cook. Dog treats.

mmm… doggy treats…

Barley is pretty impressed with them. And they were really easy to make. In fact, both recipes are inventions of my own, based on other doggy treat recipes and the supplies that I already had in my cupboard. Here are the recipes, in case you want to make your own:

Barley’s Banana Bites

  • 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 2 tbsp Honey (heated in the microwave, so its easier to mix)
  • 1/4 cup Crisco
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Banana (when they start to go bad, I freeze them, so I actually used a frozen Banana for this recipe)

Mix ingredients. Form into cookie shapes and bake at 350 degrees for 20 min.

Chicken and Rice Balls

  • 1/2 can Chicken Stock
  • 2-3 cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/4 cup Crisco
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 tbsp Brown Sugar
  • Rice, leftover from last week’s takeout

Mix ingredients. Form into balls. Bake at 350 for 20-25 min.

Entry filed under: Baking, Barley.

another year wiser? shocking things i learned today

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jason  |  September 10, 2007 at 8:38 am

    Your number of categories are growing. You’re becoming the complete homemaker!

    Let’s not forget that that bowl of eventual doggy treats probably looked extremely similar to those refried beans…..after they came up again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Recent Posts


