Back to school!

August 22, 2007 at 9:18 pm 1 comment

Today was the first day of the fall semester at UK. That means a few things:

  1. Lost freshman everywhere.
  2. Starbucks was extra-crowded this morning.
  3. Lots of people driving around campus = greater probability I will get hit by a car.
  4. Most of my 20,000 words for the day are used training new students.

In other news, my morning glories have taken off fabulously:

Perhaps I do have a green thumb after all?

And Barley brought in a surprise for me the other day:

Note the large bug to the right of Barley’s nose

He seemed genuinely upset that I wasn’t as thrilled about the bug as he was. In fact, he sat next to the garbage can for about 10 min after I threw the bug away.

Which brings me to my next point. I’ve been thinking (okay, daydreaming) a lot recently. Analysis of neurotransmitters with HPLC is going slow – as in, it’s 20 sec of work followed by 13 min of waiting. Anyways, Amy’s post about the publish-it-yourself book reminded me that I have been brainstorming potential titles for my autobiography. I figure that if John Grogan can write about his dog, I must have something to write about. I’ve also decided that the title should have a colon in it (I’m not sure why). So here’s what I’ve got:

  1. The rat lab: Adventures of a self-proclaimed animal-hater in academia
  2. 6U: Tales of a northern girl living in the south
  3. Ripping out my hair: Travel to China and beyond

I figure that my other option is to change the book topic from just basic stories of what I’m up to (which, after you’ve been reading my blog long enough, you know would not be exciting enough to make the bestseller list) to something a bit more contrived. I would have to go on an adventure and write about it. Like Amy Sutherland’s adventures at an exotic animal training school, my adventure would be exciting enough that most people would want to hear about it. Right? So if anyone’s got any suggestions on appropriate adventures, let me know.

I’ll keep you (y’all?) updated on who will star in the movie, and which songs should be used on the soundtrack.

Also, while you’re at Amy Sutherland’s website, you should check out this article on animal training – Modern Love: What Shamu taught me about a happy marriage. (there will be a book on the topic soon). FYI: for those of you who have otherwise been unimpressed with my animal lab gig, I have learned the techniques Amy mentions in the article and others that I *hope* will come in handy. I’m not going to announce who I’ll be trying them on first, or who I have already used them on. Mwa ha ha ha (evil laugh).

Entry filed under: Barley, etc, Garden.

In Frisco Bay Breaking News

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  August 23, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    I’m glad it was just a bug – I had an other idea of what it was. Luckily, no.

    I really think you’re underestimating the amusement potential of giving animals drugs – throw in the lab personalities, the disappointment of failed and slow research, the poke-your-brains out banality of conference presentation, some “love in the lab” scenes, and top it off with just a bit of actual information about drug dependency. Best seller. And then call Scarlet Johansen to play you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Posts


