Work your magic, St. Joseph!

August 6, 2007 at 9:46 pm 3 comments

I got the following package from Jason’s mom, Debbie last week:

St. Joseph: realtor extraordinaire?

It’s St. Joseph the Worker and he’s going to help me sell my house (I hope!). All I had to do was bury him in the ground upside down.  To be honest, I don’t understand why he has to go in upside down or why he gets buried in the ground in the first place, but I am almost willing to try anything to sell this place.

Upside down.  I’m not sure why.

As a Lutheran, I’ve totally missed out on learning about the saints. In fact, it took me an embarrassingly long time to figure out that St. Joseph was of Mary, Jesus, and Joseph fame. And even then, I had to double check with Bill (our devout Catholic friend).

Don’t even THINK about digging it up, doggy!

So, St. Joseph is in the ground (as long as Barley doesn’t dig him up!), and I hope he will work his magic in a timely fashion. I’m a little worried that the house won’t sell, or at least not anytime soon. I’ve had a few people come by in the last few weeks, and some of them even seemed interested, but I haven’t had any offers yet. I figure I’ll give it another week and then call a realtor.

Entry filed under: Home.

Barley’s New Toys In Frisco Bay

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  August 7, 2007 at 4:58 am

    Hi, Jen!
    Do you think I’m totally crazy for sending St. Joseph to you? Seriously it has worked for several people I know and I hope it does for you as well. I don’t know why it has to be upside down either; it just makes it more of a project, I guess.
    Good luck and I hope something will bring you luck soon! You have done so much to make the house adorable; someone should love it as much as you. Love, Debbie

    Reply
  • 2. jp  |  August 7, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    Of course I don’t think you’re crazy! I just hope it will work!!

    Reply
  • 3. Amy  |  August 16, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    I think he goes upside down because, after you sell the house, you’re supposed to dig him up and put him on your mantle (or shelf or whatever). Soooo, he has to “work harder” to get out of the ground and on the mantle. Or so the priests say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Posts


