still alive, and with all 10 fingers

April 2, 2007 at 9:39 pm 2 comments

Whoa. We have had a busy couple of days. The weather has been absolutely stunning here in Lexington, and all free moments have been spent in the garden.

I planted pansies around the trees in the front, and some on the sides of the house. I’ve also replanted some daffodils that Jason was going to mow over on Saturday, and I created a path to the hammock out of stone. My current plan is to plant some (irish?) moss around the stones, and then ground covery flowers around the moss. I hope it will look secret garden-esque.

Hammock

Jason got out the chainsaw and cut down a bunch of tree/weeds growing in the yard – don’t worry, he’s still got all 10 fingers – but he did get oil on the new-ish stone pathway that Robby (my little bro) installed last fall. He also cut the grass/weeds we’ve got growing in the back yard, and his eyes were puffy and red for several hours afterwards. Guess the allergies are pretty bad down here.

I made a little project, using real powertools and scrap lumber (see below). And, let me just say that the circular saw is much more fun than it looks. Also, I still have all of my fingers and limbs.

Planter Project

As a little “welcome back to the work-week” surprise, we almost got hit by a car this morning. As in, there was about 1′ between me and a car – the lady slowed down as she was rounding the corner and saw us, so we kept walking (we did have the walk sign), but then, she hit the accelerator and almost ran into JT and I. I’m not quite sure what Kentucky drivers have against pedestrians, but we almost get hit by a car daily, and it’s getting pretty old.

Then, I had a gross day at work. I will spare you the details, but let’s just say that science is not glamorous.

But! I made an edible dinner, and 3 new *girl* friends came over to share it with me. Seafood pasta. Not bad, and certainly not in JT’s food repitoire (because it’s not chicken, cheese pizza, or chipotle), so it was fun to try something new.

In other news, I beat JT in our NCAA brackets, and on Friday we leave for family vacation in Breckenridge, Colorado. Have I mentioned that I am excited?

Entry filed under: Garden.

Our Garden is Growing! (well, mostly…) the new study color

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dad  |  April 3, 2007 at 9:11 am

    OF coures Jason will follow us down Devils Crotch and then Mine Shaft…. we can come back and meet him at the lift say….. Wednesday.
    Dad

    Now I am excited!

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  April 15, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    When will you come and make dinner for your mother? After everything I have done for you…giving birth to you, cutting your hair, etc. What does a mother have to do to get some appreciation around here?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts


