Our Garden is Growing! (well, mostly…)

March 28, 2007 at 1:55 am Leave a comment

Great news! We planted about 15 bushes and a tree last fall, and all except for 1 seem to be growing this spring! Yes! Take, for example, the flowering pear tree below. Now we’ll just cross our fingers that the tree and bushes fill in quickly so that we don’t have to keep staring at the parking lot for the apartments next door. Also, then the indian woman and baby that live next door won’t continue to stare over the fence at us (it creeps us out a little). I always want to say hi or something, but I suspect that she doesn’t speak English.

Living Tree

We do have another tree, however, that looks to be about 1/2 dead (some branches are growing, others, not so much). Any clue as to what the problem might be? I suspect the black spots on the trunk have something to do with it.

Not-so-Living Tree

Also, I thought I’d take this moment to solicit advice on what we should grow – we are especially looking for plants that flourish in the shade. I’ve currently got bushes of: hibiscus, azalea, hydrangea, butterfly flower, and some other varieties that don’t flower. I’d like to get some peonies, and perhaps some other tall or medium height flowers. And the garden in the front yard doesn’t typically get much sunlight, so I thought I’d plant some ferns up in there. I also want to pick up some planters for the front and back porches and some hanging plants… and, oh, I could easily get carried away with all of this.We spent most of the weekend in the garden, and I’ve got the sunburn to prove it. I blame Kentucky for this. It’s closer to the equator, so we probably get more intense sunlight than I’ve been accustomed to. On the other hand, stuff grows quickly here. I’ve been walking through the yard every day since it got warm enough to do so, and I can practically watch things grow. That is, everything except the grass .

In other, completely unrelated news, only one of my NCAA final four picks (Ohio State) is still playing, and J’s got 2 teams in (Florida and Georgetown). I’m down by 1 point, so I’ll be cheering for OSU and UCLA on Saturday.

Entry filed under: Garden.

JTR: liability or comedian? still alive, and with all 10 fingers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts


