Science is Silly

March 9, 2007 at 2:49 am 2 comments

We’ve been having one of THOSE weeks… Without going into too much detail, we’ll just say that it’s been a pretty long week in the lab. Fortunately, we can take it easy tomorrow (I plan to work 9-12), we only have to go in for about 10 min on Saturday and Sunday, and Monday we’ll be at a conference all day (I have to give a 10-min talk, but can relax the rest of the day).

The comedic relief this week has been pretty good, however. For example:

(walking to work this morning)
Jen: Ohh, it’s a little cold out here. I’m going to put my hat on. Aren’t you going to put your hat on?
J: No.
Jen: What? Why? Aren’t you cold?
J: I have to look good for my presentation this afternoon. I don’t want to wreck my hair. Because when I look good, my data looks even better.

(yesterday, at the lab bench)
Josh (our coworker): Are you sure you should heat and stir that with the top on?
Jen: Sure, last time we heated and stirred this, we had the top on and it was fine.
(30 sec later)
Bottle: Explodes, spilling about $100 worth of antidepressant everywhere.
(that one was not quite as funny as it was ridiculous, and a little sad – especially since I occasionally claim to have been a chemistry major in college)

Tuesday, we went to an organizational meeting for an event that we’re volunteering for this weekend. This is the first time that this particular group has planned an event like this, and I think they may have been overestimating the amount of things that 2-10 year olds already know about the brain. For example, check out the puzzles below – who knows what these pictures are referring to (much less the function of the word in question)? Am I underestimating the abilities of kids? I just don’t remember learning ANYTHING about the brain when I was a kid (although, given the incident above, I don’t remember much from college either).



(PS if you ever need a good neuroscience resource for kids – or adults – Neuroscience for Kids is super-awesome).

Entry filed under: etc, Lexington.

Rainy Day Shoes The Explorium

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amy  |  March 10, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    You’ll be REALLY lucky if the 10-year-olds can figure out that’s an axe…good luck with getting them to figure out what the heck an axon is. And what’s the second? Fornecks? They sound dirty.

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  April 15, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    Please explain the second picture….I don’t know nothin’ bout the brain…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts


